In the second example of close combat let’s take the situation from the first example and reverse the active phases. We will assume in this case that Blue made the move to precipitate the close combat with the same results as occurred in example one:
Red now has his active phase. He first attempts to remove the disruption status from his musketeer piece (second from bottom) but does no better than the blue player had done in her attempt in the previous example, rolling a three when a minimum of four was required:
Two of Red’s pieces have single corner locks and If Red chooses, he could attempt to disengage them my rolling a 1d6 equal or greater than their QV. Red would like to pivot one or both pieces into the flank of the double corner locked Blue piece but this is not an option since to do so would place his pieces in illegal contact with other Blue pieces. With one action available to each of his combat pieces Red attempts to overwhelm the double locked musketeer piece by first sliding his single locked pike piece into full contact with Blue followed by moving his second pike piece laterally to support the first pike piece. To complete his action he moves his upper musketeer piece obliquely in to full face-to-face contact with Blue’s right flank musketeer piece.
This last move is perhaps overly aggressive since it results in only an even-up combat. A more conservative player may have held that piece in position and been judged right to do so. note that the casualty marker can be moved so as not to interfere with making contact.
The attack on the double locked musketeer piece ends up being very substantial, with the expectation of destroying it a very real possibility:
The white dice in the photo above indicate the number of pips added to the combat roll for Red. Since this is a combat between a pike piece (Red) and a musketeer piece (Blue), Red begins with a +2 advantage (the pike piece CV is 5 and the musketeer piece 3, therefore a difference of 2). The central white die indicates that difference. In addition the pike piece is supported on both flanks by unengaged friendly musketeer pieces that add +2 each (indicated by the die to either flank of the pike piece). The worst possible outcome will be a simple victory for Red but he expects much better results!
Naturally the wargame gods determine otherwise:
In the often used aphorism, “Don’t roll a one!”, that is exactly what Red does. This gives a 7 (6+1) to 3 result – a double victory – and the Blue musketeer piece is pushed back and disrupted. A good result but not the sure kill Red was expecting.
In the other combat (at the top of the above picture), Blue wins a simple victory (3 to 2) and Red’s left flank musketeer piece is pushed back.
With the full turn completed, the players roll for Intiative (who will go first in the next turn).
Blue wins the Initative with a 2 to 1 roll:
Blue now attempts to remove the disruption status from two of her pieces. She needs four or greater (the Quality Value – QV – of each piece is 4). She rolls well, clearing both:
Blue could now easily maneuver away but chooses to attack. Since there are no corner-locked pieces contact will represent the beginning of a NEW close combat and Blue must cover all of Red’s first line pieces. Red has already lost one piece and has another disrupted (and not part of the first line) so Blue has a two piece advantage. She attacks the isolated left flank musketeer piece with one of her own and brings up a second musketeer piece for flank support. She then pairs her pikes with the opposing pike pieces and attacks the right flank musketeer piece with her remaking two musketeer pieces giving her a second combat with flank support:
Blue decides to resolve the close combats in sequence beginning with the isolated combat on her right flank:
The above photo shows the outcome of each combat with the rolls that brought about the positions shown. Starting at the top:
7 (5+2) to 5 Blue – a simple victory – the Red piece is pushed back.
6 to 5 Red – a simple victory – the Blue piece is pushed back.
5 to 4 Blue – a simple victory – the Red piece is pushed back. Since it is forced to move into a disrupted piece, however – the disrupted piece is eliminated. Had the piece not been disrupted, the pushed back piece would have simple moved through the piece behind it one additional piece length (with no other effect). The disrupted piece is removed and a casualty marker put in its place.
8 (6+2) to 2 Blue – a triple victory and the Red piece is eliminated (and replaced by a casualty marker).
The Attacker decides the order in which to resolve the combats and the effect of each combat occurs immediately. Had Blue decided to start with her left flank, the opposing piece would have been removed and her musketeer piece would then have been able to give flank support to the adjacent pike piece in its combat.
Since Red has again lost more than two pieces, his entire unit is eliminated and a unit casualty marker put in its place. All combats are resolved before a unit is eliminated, however, to see if additional casualties occur.